Shrimp Pasta

I still had a generous amount of frozen shrimp left (having only used a handful in rice previously) and was thinking of putting them on skewers for the grill or something.

That was until I clicked on this Garlicky Shrimp Alfredo Bake recipe (with video.)

Since I’m working with cooked shrimp, maybe I could have simply incorporated them at the very end into the sauce and pasta?  I wasn’t sure.  All I did know was that I wanted to infuse the shrimp with the garlic butter flavor and followed the saute step.

Beforehand however, I chose to painstakingly cut the tails off while my fingers went numb handling the not-fully thawed shrimp.  So, I was reminded to buy them without tails in the future (unless they’re raw at which point I can use them for seafood stock, right?)

In any case, after rinsing them thoroughly with water, I let them drain on a colander for a bit.  Then, I patted them dry with paper towels (although I don’t mind if they leaked a little bit into the sauce because it will make for a thinner consistency, which I prefer.)

I doubled all of the ingredients and used a 16 ounce box of pasta.  As for shrimp I had about one pound and a half (my guess without weighing what I had left in the freezer from the 2 lb bag.)

I’m ashamed to say that I deliberately omitted the tomatoes.  Allow me to explain.  I didn’t have any shredded cheese handy, so the prep process for that plus the mincing of the garlic stole my thunder.  However, I do plan on adding them next time because who doesn’t love tomatoes?

Lastly, I transferred everything into a shallow pan for baking (as I don’t yet own an oven-safe pan and my crock pot is too big for this.)

Well, we happily devoured this shrimp dish and just like the site where it came from, it was Delish!

Leave a Reply

