Paella or para mi?

After a recent-decent Arroz con Pollo outcome, I felt bold enough to try again with something else.

The inspiration began with a package of frozen shrimp that kept staring back at me in the freezer each time I bypassed it for something else.  The final spur was a container of seafood stock that was also collecting dust in the cupboard.

18341713_781151132053054_6538214369890629144_n.jpgSo, here’s the list of ingredients I used:

  • 3 cups Seafood Stock & about 1/2 cup water
  • Teaspoon of lemon juice
  • 1 packet of Sazon con Culantro y Achiote (Coriander & Annatto)
  • 3-4 Tablespoons of Sofrito
  • 2 cups medium grain rice
  • 8 – 10 medium-sized cooked shrimp
  • Handful of Spanish olives (sliced and drained because they’re salty)
  • 2 Tablespoons or more of Extra Virgin Olive Oil or Canola  oil
  • 1 Cup of mixed frozen veggies
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

I saute the Sofrito in oil (on medium high heat) along with the olives, lemon juice and spices.  (On an energized day I would have thrown in some minced garlic and onion.) Then, I give it all a good stir to combine follwed by the liquid with some salt added.

Once it begins to boil, I add the shrimp with rice and stir well.  Once the water is evaporating with holes forming on top, I bring the rice at the bottom to the top, reduce the heat to low and cover.  After twenty minutes or so I repeat the stirring of the rice (bottom to top) and cover again for about 10 to 15 minutes.  I’m not waiting for meat to get cooked thoroughly so it wasn’t that complicated for me.

Next, I’d like to try with uncooked shrimp (and in any case without tails because I learned that they annoy me unless I’m eating them cold with Cocktail sauce.)  For a little kick, I also plan to go with Cajun and/or Creole spices instead of typical Sazon.  Regarding rice and seafood combinations by the way, making an authentic Paella at home is my ultimate goal.

In the meantime, Fine Dining Lovers has been serving something for my mental palate on the subject.

 

Leave a Reply

