Cake for the Pan

I’ve used store-bought mixes to make a batch of pancakes for as long as I can remember. Since I preferred the kind that still required milk and eggs to be added (not just water) I’m not sure why if the batter is not exactly instant, anyway.  Simple stuff for someone else is still a learning curve for me.

18423258_1679225539045770_351258018836742991_o

Lots of recipes out there for homemade pancakes of course, some use vanilla extract (never a mistake) or cinnamon.  Careful with this last one, when I’m not wearing my glasses I have easily mistaked our Cayenne for Cinna-man!

Okay, so it didn’t occur to me before that it might call for baking powder but of course, it is a cake for the pan.  Sometimes I have fresh fruit available and for the occasional treat I’ll add chocolate chips.  But today, we kept it simple to see if I liked this new recipe plain.  I did.

My search engine brought Good Old Fashioned Pancakes into our kitchen via All Recipes this morning and I was more than pleased.

18320507_1679225475712443_4922482828173293159_o

With this success, I realized I need a waffle maker now.

I don’t believe that Aunt Jemima will be paying us too many visits after this or Bisquick. Never say never but, I think they’ve already served their purpose as all things from the past tend to do.

 

Leave a Reply

