Not your average Potato Salad

I was feeling uninspired about the usual sides for potato, pasta and/or macaroni salad.  Not that I mastered any of these, just that I wanted to offer something a bit more interesting at the next get together with loved ones.  I thought about maybe serving deviled eggs with an avocado filling, but then I found this recipe for Avocado Potato Salad and my search was over.

20170506_124355

As I’ve seasoned cut-up potatoes for the oven in the past, I knew they always come out great so, the fact that we’re not boiling them is what intrigued me.  Damn Delicious states that roasting them is key and I was sold.

20170506_122924

I doubled the recipe because I had 5 small ripe avocados and creamier is always better in my book anyway.  Lack of limes resulted in the juice but that’s not a deal breaker.  Hardest part for me is always chopping up the potatoes into cubes (but that’s the case with any old recipe.)

20170506_123645To my surprise, I had the good sense to not immediately wash the large bowl where I first seasoned the potatoes.  In this way, I was able to put them right back in there after the oven step to mash the avocados and combine with the rest of the ingredients once cooled.  (Sidebar: I can’t tell you how many times I rinse something or put it in the sink with soap before realizing that it still had a purpose. Such as not discarding hot pasta water right away because it can be used to soak our soiled utensils, duh!)

I tasted the potatoes after they came out of the oven and they were good just like that so I knew this was going to be well received and it was.  Someone thought it was store-bought while others were simply impressed by the sight of it alone because it certainly does not resemble your average potato salad (no mayo by the way.)

If I’m ever requested to bring a dish to a party, this will be it.  Need I point out, bacon.

It’s a potluck pleaser, for sure.

Leave a Reply

