Simple Chicken Soup

On a rainy day I was in the mood for this.  I used chicken thighs that I covered with chicken stock and water.  I diced up an onion and some garlic and threw that in along with the seasonings.  I let it come to a boil on high heat then simmer on low with the lid on.  Once the chicken is fully cooked and/or coming apart from the bone, I add the carrots and potatoes.  No stalks on hand, but celery seed works for me.  I wish I had fresh cilantro or lemon to add to this but I did not. Instead, I added a touch of red wine vinegar and always, extra virgin olive oil.

20170420_105911No Fideos (soup pasta) to be found in the cupboard but thankfully some twinkle, twinkle. I add the pasta at the end once the veggies are soft.  I leave it covered and even turn off the heat because by then it’ll still finish up that way in the final minutes.

17917709_771743586327142_8416844581608954865_o
Oh, that’s just my ladle, Nessie.

 

It worked out fine, especially for the kids.

Later, when I had it again, I also ate it with two slices of Martin’s potato bread because I just couldn’t help myself.  Thank goodness it also comes in a loaf by the way because those little rolls never last near me.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken thighs with bone and skin (to be discarded after)
  • 32 oz container of chicken stock and water to cover (more as you go if necessary)
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 3-4 garlic cloves
  • salt, pepper, celery seed and ground oregano to taste
  • 1 chicken Bouillon cube
  • 1 cup of Pastina

 

 

If only I could blink my eyes and find Sancocho in my bowl one of these days but nope (soon I hope.)  Still, it beats my former lifetime slurps of Campbell’s or Lipton’s instant remedies, you know?

 

Leave a Reply

