Kielbasa en casa

So, I didn’t grow up eating this.  However, I was at a barbecue last year and Kielbasa was among the grilled meats that were being served that day.  It was a nice change from hot dogs and hamburgers.  I don’t know the brand used but I do recall it was a very spicy sausage and too hot for my taste buds.  Nevertheless, I left there wanting to buy some for future meal planning, but with a lot less heat.  Back home, I found that the blended version of beef, turkey and pork by Hillshire Farms is the one I like best.  Please share your brand preferences.

As far as the prep, what I like about this is the fact that it’s pre-cooked which obviously cuts down the time it takes to serve dinner.  So far, my recipes with kielbasa have always included pasta.  After sautéing a minced onion and garlic in some extra virgin olive oil and/or unsalted butter, I add the cut up sausage.  Once the pasta is done I drain and combine.  I sprinkle fresh pepper and some salt and if I’m in the mood for it, some fresh Parmesan cheese.  It’s pretty simple to get this on the table and it tasted good.

Here’s the list:

  • 16 oz package of Kielbasa sausage
  • 16 oz package of Rigatoni or Rotini Pasta (boiled and drained)
  • Minced onion (small)
  • Chopped garlic (2-3)
  • 1 Tablespoon of Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 Tablespoon of Italian Seasoning (optional)

Last night, I believe it could have used a vegetable in there.  It was missing broccoli, I thought.  There’s certainly lots more that can be added to this.  If you’ve already experimented in your own way, I’d love to hear about it.

Oh and something else I appreciate about this sort of meal (at least with the Rigatoni or better yet, Rotini) is that it can be served hot or cold. I’m thinking if I add a tablespoon or more of Italian seasoning and maybe a touch of red wine vinegar that it can work as an easy pasta salad at our next barbecue.

Leave a Reply

