This ain’t about that

My ultimate goal is to one day be able to pluck the tomatoes I use from my very own garden, but alas, I’m just not there yet.

Sigh.

I wanted to make a homemade Marinara sauce nonetheless and in my initial search, it was a recipe by Giada De Laurentiis that got me started.  But this ain’t about that because some days, I have to settle for jarred sauce.

So, here’s what I do when I simply want to add meat in:

Ingredients

  • 1/4 lb ground beef
  • Minced onion (smallest works for me)
  • Garlic (5-6 cloves because I love it.)
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Italian seasoning
  • Fresh Pepper
  • Marinara Sauce (I like more sauce than meat so I use two 24 oz jars or the largest if on hand.)

Brown the beef and drain.

Keep a tiny bit of grease on the pan for sauteing the onion & garlic on medium-high heat until fragrant.

Return the meat to the pot and combine with your favorite sauce.  Rao, Victoria, Paesana and Mezzetta are making the rounds in my kitchen lately.

Throw in a heaping tablespoon of Italian seasoning behind some fresh pepper to taste and a touch of EVOO.

Lower the flame and allow to simmer for a bit while your pasta is boiling.   When I’m running low on sauce, I’ll add a bit of that pasta water.

It is what it is.

Which brands are working for you these days?  In a former life folks, I was all about Ragu.

Leave a Reply

