Momma done burnt the chicken (but this time on purpose.)

My cooking journey is typically focused on trying new recipes that have been graciously shared by so many others.  But, once in a while I come up with something of my own (which is the ultimate goal for most of us who are trying to get better at something.)

This one naturally came about since we’ve been eating more chicken lately and the fact that we were getting a bit bored with chicken breasts.  I know some people who only eat breasts but nothing compares to the flavor of a whole baked bird or dark meat in general, where my taste buds are concerned.

So, if you’re also looking for a change, here’s my recipe.

17795875_761879280646906_2376575690399299209_n

 

INGREDIENT LIST:

  • 6-8 Chicken thighs (boneless & skinless if you prefer)

Seasoning:

  • Onion Powder
  • Garlic Powder
  • Salt
  • Fresh Pepper
  • 3-4 garlic cloves (I prefer more myself.)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar or glaze

 

 

Sprinkle meat with the above seasonings to your liking.

Drizzle olive oil on a pan set to medium-high heat for searing the meat.  Once it’s charred on both sides, set aside and cover.

Back in the same pan add a bit more EVOO (I scrape and keep the burnt pieces stuck on the pan if any) then add garlic for sautéing until fragrant.

Return the chicken to the pan and add about a cup of water and set to low and cover for about 45 minutes.  Plan for more cooking time if your chicken is bone-in until it’s cooked through.  Eventually the chicken will pull apart into strips.

On a personal note, I happen to like the skin on to get it real crispy and brown on the outside. Granted, this is not the healthiest option but admittedly, when it separates from the chicken, those pieces are all mine.  Since I don’t deep fry anything, it’s a compromise and the closest I get to a fried chicken feel at home.  (For this share however, boneless & skinless are used.)

Once the liquid has mostly reduced add a generous splash of balsamic vinegar.  If using the glaze, simply drizzle.  When I’m not in the mood for rice & beans (rare) I”ll mash red potatoes and leave the skin on’em too.


On fancy days, I’ll serve this with buttery garlic vegetables like carrots or broccoli.
On other occasions, I’ve patiently prepared creamed spinach.  This day however, I kept it simple with a steamed bag of corn.

This pulled chicken works for us inside a wrap with shredded cheese, as taco filling or added to a mixed salad when we’re lucky enough to have leftovers the next day.

If you every try this, drop it in the comments or share how you make your own delicious chicken thighs.

Leave a Reply

